Liz Harvatine’s gift for a friend

15 February, 2007

OK, I’m gonna have to become friends with Liz (aka Lady Harvatine), as she makes be-yoo-ti-ful quilts for the people she likes. This design was inspired by a quilt by Denyse Schmidt.

Lady Harvatine: Done and done.
The design takes full advantage of the two things I love most about
DSQ: #1, irregularity and the appearance of randomness in shapes and
placement and #2, the use of a neutral color as a background as opposed
to an all over design. And now that I’m on the subject I’ve thought of
another: #3, choosing a very high percentage of solid fabrics over
patterned ones. I really love the clean, modern look that you can
achieve this way. It makes the design really prominent and also makes
the few patterns that you do use really stand out. For this quilt I
used all solids except for one plaid for some of the stripes and a
flowered vintage-looking print for the backing.The design isn’t
totally random. I tried to work out how many stripes of each color I
would need and in which widths and lengths to keep it somewhat
balanced. I used the same number of each on either side and simply laid
them out randomly on the floor along with white strips of different
widths. I rearranged one or two stripes but was quite happy with my
initial “random” layouts.

One Response to “Liz Harvatine’s gift for a friend”


  1. Hello! Thanks so much for posting about my quilt. I’m so glad that you like it!


Leave a Reply

