I made Amy Butler Wide Leg Lounge Pants!!!

16 April, 2007

So yesterday morning I bought In Stitches, because I couldn’t spend another second without Amy Butler’s Wide Leg Lounge Pants. And yesterday afternoon I had two new pairs of pants!!! Made by me! Can you tell I’m excited? I’ve never sewn clothing before, and I did it! I made buttonholes! I made drawstrings! I sewed the right pattern pieces together! They fit!

This pattern was super-easy for a newbie to follow. I’m 5’4″ and one hundred seventy five pounds 😐 and I used the large size, and when I put them on they were a nearly perfect fit. I added one half inch to the side of each leg for the second pair, for just a bit more room. The pattern has very long legs, so I took a bit of length off, and then sewed a wide hem (I figure I can let them out if I get taller–heh).

Here is my first pair, made with a cornflower blue and cream cotton print. You may or may not be able to tell that they fit snugly across the hips:

Here is my second pair, made with a funky cowboy cotton print, and with just a bit of looseness in the hips:

And here are my next four pair, fresh from the fabric store!

I love these pants! Maybe I am a little short and squat, but I feel like a movie star from the forties in them.

8 Responses to “I made Amy Butler Wide Leg Lounge Pants!!!”

  1. Holly Says:

    Man! I love Amy Bulter! I’ve been wanting to try this pattern, but havent started, these look really good!

  2. Jill Says:

    I have that book too – definitely motivated me to take a second look. Great job!

  3. Jenn : ) Says:

    Wow – I haven’t ventured into sewing real clothes – you may have persuaded me! Those look really comfy – and your fabric choices are fantastic!

    You Rock!

    Jenn : )

  4. Michele Says:

    Thanks for the comment!

    I’m a newbie sewer too…when I made these pants it was also my first time I ever making buttonholes or a drawstring. Very exciting stuff! I’m almost ready to try something more challenging when it comes to sewing clothes…while my confidence is up 🙂

  5. hellesbelles86 Says:

    so very nice! And I empathize with the shortnes combined with the fluffy factor. I’m also 5’4″ but with extra extra in the rear. Go figure. Those look comfy tho so I may have to try!

  6. Stella Says:

    YOu’ve just inspired me to try these out! The book has been gathering dust on my quilting shelf… time to dust off the sewing machine!

  7. sharon Says:

    I cant find the book and on a fixed income so is there a way I can get the pattern i`m in a 3x and hope some one can help me

  8. darlin6 Says:

    Your pants look great, you are quite motivating, keep up the great job:)


Leave a Reply

